Mel Brooks Starts New Foundation: Schmucks for Schmuck

MelBrooks
As a Jewish philanthropy blogger, I am obligated to bring you news of Mel Brook’s establishment of a new nonprofit foundation: Schmucks for Schmuck.

The Onion reports:

“We must save this word!” Brooks said to thunderous applause as those in attendance began chanting “Schmuck! Schmuck! Schmuck!”

“How will we be able to charmingly describe someone who acts in an inappropriate manner? Especially given the tragic loss of the word ‘schmegeggie’ in 2001.

So I urge you: Tonight, when you get home, please, call up your family, your friends, your loved ones, and tell them they’re a bunch of schmucks.”

“The foundation has already raised more than $20 million, thanks to donations from supporters such as Jackie Mason, Albert Brooks, the Schtupp Institute, Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI), and the Henny Youngman Endowment for the Preservation of Schmekel.”

Yiddish

Does your Yiddish need a little brushing up? Not sure of the difference between shlmiel, shlmazel, shmekel, schmuck, and putz (excuse my language)? Click here.

Links

If you liked this post, you might also enjoy:

Subscribe

If you are new here and you like what you read, please consider subscribing by e-mail or feed reader via the sidebar.

While you are here, take a look around to get to know The New Jew: Blogging Jewish Philanthropy better. My “About” page is a good place to start.

You are always welcome here.

22 Responses to Mel Brooks Starts New Foundation: Schmucks for Schmuck

  1. [...] And– “Mel Brooks Starts New Foundation: Schmucks for Schmuck” [...]

  2. richard samuelson says:

    people say that i’m only a PUTZ. can i still join. many thanks—richard samuelson—-montreal

  3. thenewjew says:

    Richard,

    I certainly think that Mr. Brooks would be happy to include you, although remember what Groucho Marks said, that we wouldn’t want to belong to any club that would have him as a member. :)

    If Henny Youngman can have a schmekel society, then surely the schmucks and the putzes can bond as well under one happy umbrella.

    Maya

  4. Marc Polish says:

    I think this is a wonderful idea and would like to create a special t-shirt for this great cause.

    We are very opened to ideas.

    We feel that not only is the millions of people who current could worthy of this title, but new future schmucks are being born daily.

    Please submit your ideas to marc@chaimaitnenace.com

    We will consider creating the Schmuck Award Toiletpaper. This could be send the Schmuck of your choices.

    http://www.chaimaintenance.com
    http://www.justotoiletpaper.com

  5. thenewjew says:

    Marc,

    Great idea. Very funny. Please update me when you do.

    To my readers, that second link should be: http://www.justtoiletpaper.com/.

    Maya

  6. keiley caster says:

    So where do I get my SHMUCKS FOR SHMUCK t-shirt?

  7. thenewjew says:

    Keiley,

    Your best bet is to follow Marc’s links above.

    Feel free to send photos!

    Maya

  8. thenewjew says:

    Hi Gregory,

    Good luck with your venture. Probably the best means of contact for you at this point (although general) are the following:

    1. Find out who Mr. Brooks’ agent is and send her/him a copy of the demo
    2. Send a copy to Mr. Brooks’ studio representation
    3. Find a connection through someone he knows personally

    In the meantime, have you tried promoting your efforts through a website or YouTube to get your name out there more?

    Good luck,

    Maya

  9. Norman Remais says:

    Incidential, individually we were known to each other in a shortened version as SCHMEC(s). Sociological, Cultural,Humanitarian, Motivational, Educational Council(member)

  10. Judy C says:

    I was most impressed with Mel Brooks’s efforts and have dedicated a song to them. You can see it on Youtube:

  11. Hey interesting website, just wondering what spam blocker software you have on your site for comments since I have been hit by so many spammers on my web site.

  12. Maya Norton says:

    Gregory, I’ve deleted all your comments on this post. Let me know if there are others you want gone as well- please provide the links.

    ~ Maya

  13. Since then, I have been feasting on piping hot, delicious
    home cooked pizzas, which I have eaten whilst sitting
    on the beach at night. You might need to dust your rolling
    pin with flour too, if the crust sticks to it too much while you are rolling.
    There is also the question about whether to use a pizza stone, ceramic tile, or
    the pizza screen.

  14. rona says:

    How about a small side-group of those who have an enormous amount of “schmazel – sort of a subgroup of all those who are schmucks,sclameles, etc., etc.etc!!!!

  15. shia elson says:

    I feel as mel brooks does except for the word “oy”.
    A VERY SPECIAL WORD

    BY SHIA ELSON, 11/11/11

    One of my favorite words is oy. It’s an exclamation of disappointment, dismay or exasperation or many other things. It’s used whenever things aren’t going so well. Older Jews use it much more than younger ones, perhaps because they always have a pain somewhere.

    I use it myself, it not only seems to express my discomfort, but it also seems to ease my pain. It also lets others know I’m suffering, which is a good thing. That way, I’ve got someone to share my problem. It tells them, here is a man who is suffering but he isn’t letting it get him down. He’s tough. It’s from Yiddish, so I think there’s a feeling God will hear it.

    Oy, like many special words, can be modified, especially in intensity. First of all, saying it loud means more discomfort than saying it low. It also means that I want more people to know about it. Oy-yoi-yoi-yoi-yoi-yoi-yoi (you’re allowed to lengthen or shorten this) suggests a more lasting discomfort. Oy veh ( pronounced vaa) suggests that things are hitting the fan, it says this is not your average oy. The really big oy is oy gevalt. It suggests that something must be done to stop this situation.

    It’s a shame the oy is confined to Jews. I use it a dozen times a day, it must be doing something. I would recommend gentiles to try it. You might first try it out alone, say when you stub your toe, a perfect time. Then try sneaking it into your conversation when something comes up that displeases you. When you get more comfortable with it, try an oy-yoi-yoi. For big things you can then go to oy vey buy save the oy gevalt for the big bang.

    I think you will soon find the joy of oy overwhelming, you’ll be hooked on it. It gives you a dimension you never had before. The pain will decrease, you’ll receive support from your friends and perhaps become closer to them, and you’ll even look like you’re ethnically liberal.

    So start the day with a nice oy because something must hurt you when you wake up in the morning. Something always hurts me. I think you’ll like it.

    • Sybil says:

      Oy, it hurts to write this, but I had to reply. I use Oy-yoi-yoi probably 30 times a day. I don’t think you can legally use this unless you are 40 years or older. Before that, you don’t really have the aches and pains necessary to really feel the OY.

  16. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get three emails with
    the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people
    from that service? Cheers!

    • Maya Norton says:

      That’s too bad – isn’t that frustrating when things like that happen?

      Any chance there is an unsubscribe link at the bottom of the e-mail? I’m not sure exactly what it looks like for you, but there usually is a small link at the bottom that should allow you to do so. I don’t believe I have that capacity as the blog administrator; only you can do that.

      Let me know if you still need help, with the details included.

      This blog is no longer active, but you can contact me via Facebook or Twitter so that I’ll be sure to see your message in a timely manner: http://www.facebook.com/TheNewJew; http://twitter.com/MayaNorton.

      Hope to see you there,

      ~ Maya

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

