The New Jew: What It Means to Blog About Jewish Philanthropy

Olive Branch

Welcome to my blog: The New Jew: Blogging Jewish Philanthropy. Philanthropy, especially Jewish philanthropy, is my passion. What does this mean? I believe that there are so many people who are ardently committed to making positive change in the world, but don’t know how to go about it. I hope that TheNewJew.org (in partnership with this blog) will act as a conduit in helping provide connections to the Jewish world and its resources.

There are many great nonprofit and fundraising blogs that I have come across and hope to partner with, but The New Jew will be devoted to Jewish philanthropy specifically as an area that deserves more focus and attention.

Let’s get started. I can’t wait to begin.

8 Responses to The New Jew: What It Means to Blog About Jewish Philanthropy

  1. Jeremy Gregg says:

    Great concept! I cannot wait to read more of your thoughts. Unfortunately, there is no index file on http://www.thenewjew.org, so no site is coming up.

    Looking forward to reading your blog!

    Jeremy Gregg, Editor
    The Raiser’s Razor

  2. thenewjew says:

    Hey Jeremy,

    I’m glad you clicked through to TheNewJew.org– and not glad that it is taking a while for me to get the site launched. Your comment made me realize that I need to have an “under development” page if I am going to talk about it and promote it at all. Otherwise it’s not fair to my readers.

    Thanks for your comment and I look forward to bouncing ideas with you in the future.

    Maya

  3. Duripriercids says:

    very interesting point of view, has never been conceived of this.

  4. thenewjew says:

    Thanks, Duripriercids.

    Maya

  5. Hi Maya,

    I wanted to let you know about the Nonprofit December Giving Carnival. Deadline to submit your post is Dec. 20th.

    Here is the link,
    http://christopherscottblog.typepad.com/blog/2007/11/december-giving.html

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Christopher S.
    http://www.ChristopherScottblog.com

  6. designerwhoknows says:

    Um…

    its ridiculous that you couldn’t buy the image you have on your homepage. its from istock for goodness sake. it’ll cost you a fucking buck buddy. Stop stealing peoples art.

  7. Maya Norton says:

    Designer Who Knows (or doesn’t),

    As you will see all over my blog, I believe very strongly in crediting images and compensating artists. I strongly support the Creative Commons License, Flickr’s system, as well as all others that give artists credit for their art.

    This image was purchased and according to the rules of iStockphoto, completely under my ownership for how I choose to use it on my private website and for business purposes.

    The only reason I’m not deleting this ridiculously rude and presumptuous comment is because I fully stand behind artist, designer, and creator crediting and seek to promote it in every way that I can.

    Take a step back and a deep breath before commenting here again.

    Maya

  8. RaiulBaztepo says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

