5 Powerful Fundraising Videos (and Two Bonus)

What makes you stand up and take notice- or sit down and listen for three minutes? Here are five powerful fundraising videos that are best practices models.

You may be asking how I can call these “fundraising videos” if not a single one asks for money? My answer is that each one is a powerful motivator that brings you to a new place in your thinking about the issue, the organization, and the mission after watching. Friend-raising comes first; fundraising follows.

Other than this introduction and the source information, this is a textless entry. I encourage you to share your own favorites in the comments section or by posting at The New Jew: Microblog on Facebook. I look forward to adding a best practice sections to both this site and the microblog shortly.

Note of Exclusion:  Unpacking the White Knapsack

I chose not to include videos which feature:

  • A white spokesperson for a cause in the developing world
  • Celebrities
  • Focus on poverty and not people

For me these three items detract from the issue at hand. The point isn’t to relate to a person you’re familiar with (pretty woman, middle class white man), but to go beyond and connect with the real people whom the issues affect. I’ve chosen here films that support sustainable community growth and empowerment- and lay the gauntlet forth in doing so. Many a strong contender was excluded for an overemphasis on a Western or white perspective.

* For more information read Peggy McIntosh’s “White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack” (PDF, 4 pages).

Videos

The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies present “The Shelter Effect” (3:57, 2,850 hits)

The Girl Effect presents “The Girl Effect” (2:23, 676,500 hits)

Companion video: “The Clock is Ticking” (3:05, 209,500 hits)

—   Click Through to See Most Best Practice Videos   —

Advocates for Asylum presents “Gabriel’s Story” (2:25, 950 hits)

UNICEF presents “Child-Sensitive Social Protection” (2:00, 2,100 hits)

Companion video: “When Children’s Worlds are Turned Upside Down” (0:47, 4,800 hits)

Al Tirah USA presents “Al Tirah! Fear Not!” (3:14, 24,300 hits) – Excuse the  introduction – this was the only version available.

Bonus Videos

Here are two bonus videos that will also pique your interest.

RSA Animate presents “The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us” (10:48, 3,565,950)

And because we all need more art and beauty in our lives, this video speaks to what can inspire and motivate us in a different vein from the ones previous presented.

New York Magazine presents “Street Art: Joshua Allen Harris’ Inflatable Bag Monsters” (2:25, 1,863,350 hits)

Image Credit

Title image sourced from Flickr using the Creative Commons License, with thanks.

Subscribe

FeedButton

Like what you are reading? Please subscribe by e-mail or feed reader by clicking the sidebar icons and join me at The New Jew: Microblog on Facebook (http://tinyurl.com/TheNewJew).

25 Responses to 5 Powerful Fundraising Videos (and Two Bonus)

  1. Maya Norton says:

    The permanent shortcut for this video is: http://tinyurl.com/tnjvbp.

    Shavua Tov,

    ~ Maya

  2. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours as of late, but I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s beautiful worth sufficient for me.
    In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content
    material as you probably did, the net shall be a lot more useful than ever before.

  3. Mayra says:

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this
    onto a friend who was doing a little homework on this.
    And he in fact ordered me dinner simply because I discovered it for him.
    .. lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss this matter
    here on your web page.

  4. Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you
    using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had
    problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  5. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.

    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Thank you

  6. Very good info. Lucky me I ran across your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved it for later!

  7. I am regular reader, how are you everybody?
    This piece of writing posted at this web page is actually nice.

  8. ncis cast says:

    Thank you for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next write ups
    thanks once again.

  9. Hurrah, that’s what I was seeking for, what a stuff! existing here at this blog, thanks admin of this web site.

  10. When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the plan of a user in
    his/her mind that how a user can be aware of it.
    Thus that’s why this paragraph is amazing. Thanks!

  11. Amazing issues here. I am very happy to see your post. Thanks a lot and I am having a look ahead to contact you.

    Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  12. Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my blog so i got here to
    return the favor?.I am attempting to to
    find things to improve my site!I suppose its adequate to use some of your concepts!
    !

  13. Elliot says:

    Hello to all, how is all, I think every one is getting
    more from this site, and your views are pleasant designed
    for new people.

  14. Tremendous issues here. I’m very satisfied to look your post. Thank you so much and I am taking a look forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  15. It’s nearly impossible to find experienced people for this topic, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  16. Dawna says:

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    many months of hard work due to no backup.
    Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

  17. pimples says:

    Appreciating the dedication you put into your site and in
    depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information.
    Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m
    adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  18. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.

    I will appreciate if you continue this in future.

    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  19. Tamara says:

    It’s awesome in support of me to have a site, which is valuable in favor
    of my know-how. thanks admin

  20. 5 Powerful Fundraising Videos (and Two Bonus) | The New Jew

    […]Wow, fantastic weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for?[…]

  21. Fico score says:

    At the end of the day, the credit repair company iss a business
    seeking to make a profit. Annd while some of these companies aree
    legitimate and helpful, there are far too many crrdit repaqir scams to count, and you must avoid them at all costs.
    In fact, no credit repair company can promise
    to remove anything frim your credit reports becaause ultimately, it iss up too
    the credit bureaus what items are listed oon your reports.

  22. For example: right now I’m in the middle of two campaigns.
    They are universal and can be observed everywhere with a keen observation. Today
    I want to write about a successful product launch ‘How to Become an Advanced Early Riser’ which was launched last
    month on October 14th.

  23. Anonymous says:

    It’s great that you are getting ideas from this article as well as from our argument
    made at this time.

  24. Should these foolks buying straightforward residences using costs that are straightforward be forced to buy pricey homeowners insurance plans?

Leave a Reply

