Billionaire Jews: Bloomberg, Lauren, and Lauder Top Forbes’ List (it’s not who you think)

SilverSpoon

‘Tis the season to be ranking, tra la la la la, la la la la.

In keeping track of all the lists currently being released, I came across Forbes’ list of the “20 Most Intriguing Billionaire Heiresses.”

Gracing the list were three lovely young women who (theoretically) could show up in a shul near you. They are: Georgina Bloomberg, daughter of New York Mayor and possible presidential hopeful, Michael Bloomberg; Dylan Lauren, daughter of fashion king Ralph Lauren and owner of Dylan’s Candy Bar; and Aerin Lauder Zinterhofer of Lauder cosmetic fame.

Let’s take a brief look at our budding billionairesses.

A Brief Note on Family Names

RalphLauren

  • Estee Lauder, grandmother of Aerin, was born Josephine Esther Mentzer. She married Joseph Lauter and they changed their names to Lauder before starting the company
  • Ralph Lauren, father of Dylan, was born to Fraydl Kotlar and Frank Lifshitz. His birth name was Ralph Lifshitz (pictured right)
  • As you can guess, the Bloomberg name remained the same

On a gossipy note, the stories of Ralph Lauren and Calvin Klein, nee Richard Klein, are often compared as they grew up in the same era, same Bronx neighborhood, and of similar Eastern European Jewish backgrounds. Klein and ex-wife Jayne Centre had one daughter, Marci, who is 33.

Georgina Bloomberg

GeorginaBloomberg

The young Ms. Bloomberg, 22, is well known for her love of horses. She is the founder of Riders Closet, an organization which collects and distributes used riding gear and equipment to collegiate horse lovers. Bloomberg is seeking a place on the 2008 Olympic team as a championship rider.

EmmaBloomberg

Emma, the elder Bloomberg daughter (who did not make the list), earned top honors at Princeton and went on to Harvard to do a joint masters in public policy and business. She was a key player in her father’s mayoral campaign.

Georgina Bloomberg’s net worth is $11.5 billion.

Read more about Bloomberg here and Riders Closet here and here.

Dylan Lauren

Dylan Lauren

Dylan Lauren, 33, is the proprietor of Dylan’s Candy Bar, the product of a lifelong dream to build a candy empire like Willy Wonka’s. As you would expect, the store also includes a fashion section branded with Dylan’s Candy Bar t-shirts and other paraphernalia.

Lauren is well known for her savvy style sense and has most recently been named as one of the “25 Most Stylish New Yorkers” by US Weekly Magazine.

Describing how her love of travel and art influenced her candy shop, Lauren says:

“I just started becoming obsessed with finding more unusual candy. [I] loved pop art and certain artists like Warhol and Claes Oldenburg who worked with candy wrappers and packaging, and I started doing my own candy artwork.”DylansCandyBar2

Lauren cites her background as an Art History major as one of the central inspirations to her candy shop:

“The candy is so beautiful and the shapes and colors… then I start thinking about the architecture looking like real candy. Movies like Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory were very inspiring, and going to Disneyland. Seeing ways to make the store really unusual.”

Dylan’s Candy Bar is known for its vast array of candy, candy-inspired architecture, and birthday parties (for children at heart of all ages).

Parents are Ralph and Ricky Lauren, brother is David.

Dylan Lauren’s net worth is $4.7 billion.

Aerin Lauder Zinterhofer

LauderZinterhofer

Aerin Lauder Zinterhofer, 37, is the Vice President of Global Advertising at Estee Lauder Companies and the spokesmodel for the perfume Tuberose Gardenia. She has previously served as the Marketing Director for Prescriptives, Creative Product Development Director, and Executive Director of Creative Marketing.

Lauder’s style and glamorous appeal is synchronous with her upbringing in her family’s cosmetics clan– but she is also known as a powerhouse within the corporation. The year 2003 saw the Estee Lauder Companies hit an 8% growth in sales reaching $5 billion, a jump which was attributed in great part to Lauder’s leadership.

Lauder’s work at the company and success as a brand manager and creative director has been widely recognized as a tribute to her grandmother’s legacy.

Parents are Ronald Lauder and Carole Jo Knopf, sister is Jane, a marketing manager at Clinique Laboratories. Husband is Eric Zinterhofer (pictured above).

Aerin Lauder Zintofer’s net worth is $3.2 billion.

Read more about the Lauder family: “BusinessWeek Names Estee Lauder’s Breast Cancer Campaign to Philanthropy Hall of Fame.”

Photo Credits

Photos sourced from the following: silver spoon, Ralph Lauren (attributed to multiple sources), Georgina Bloomberg, Emma Bloomberg Frissora, Dylan Lauren, and Aerin Lauder Zinterhofer and Eric Zinterhofer.

Subscribe

Like what you read? Please subscribe by e-mail or feed reader by clicking the sidebar icons.

25 Responses to Billionaire Jews: Bloomberg, Lauren, and Lauder Top Forbes’ List (it’s not who you think)

  1. […] Billionaire Jews: Bloomberg, Lauder, and Lauren Top Forbes List (it’s not who you think) (Profiles: Georgina Bloomberg, Emma Bloomberg, Aerin Lauder Zinterhofer, Dylan Lauren) […]

  2. Christine Flapp says:

    Aerin Lauder has horrible taste in clothing despite her wealth–no one is interested in seeing her face plastered online.

  3. certainly like your website but you need to check the spelling
    on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling
    problems and I find it very troublesome to inform the
    truth nevertheless I will surely come back
    again.

  4. Funny dress, add the spirits of
    Christina Aguilera and will 
    Schick

  5. It’s in point of fact a nice and useful piece of information. I am glad that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Why users still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world everything is available on net?

  7. I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.

  8. These are actually great ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some nice points here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  9. wonderful put up, very informative. I wonder why the opposite
    experts of this sector don’t understand this. You should proceed your writing. I am sure, you have a great readers’ base already!

  10. polo outlet says:

    hello there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked up anything
    new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical
    points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web
    site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances
    times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score
    if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

  11. I am in fact thankful to the owner of this web page who has shared this enormous piece of writing at
    at this time.

  12. I don’t leave a response, however I read a bunch of remarks here Billionaire Jews: Bloomberg, Lauren, and Lauder Top Forbes List (its not who you think) | The New Jew. I actually do have some questions for you if you do not mind. Is it only me or do some of the responses look like they are coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I would like to keep up with you. Could you make a list of every one of all your social networking sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  13. What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness
    of valuable experience regarding unpredicted emotions.

  14. Hi there, its nice article about media print, we all know media is a impressive source
    of information.

  15. Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful article. Thanks for providing these details.

  16. Wow, this post is pleasant, my sister is analyzing
    these kinds of things, so I am going to tell her.

  17. Piece of writing writing is also a excitement, if
    you know afterward you can write or else it is complex to
    write.

  18. It’s amazing to go to see this web site and reading the views of all colleagues about this piece of writing, while I am also keen of getting experience.

  19. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am experiencing
    difficulties with your RSS. I don’t know why I cannot join it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS issues? Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  20. Kathy says:

    excellent publish, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You should continue your writing. I’m confident, you have a great readers’ base already!

  21. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped
    me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.dr.
    drum beat making software

  22. hello there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this web site, since I experienced
    to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often
    affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for
    a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

  23. bufandas says:

    I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing
    this blog. I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content from you in the future as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own blog now ;
    )

  24. Kelly Lewis says:

    I have to show my thanks to you for bailing me out of this particular dilemma. Just after scouting through the world-wide-web and obtaining recommendations which are not pleasant, I assumed my life was well over. Existing without the approaches to the problems you’ve sorted out by means of your entire blog post is a serious case, and the ones which might have negatively affected my career if I had not come across your website. Your own personal skills and kindness in handling the whole thing was vital. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. I’m able to at this moment relish my future. Thanks a lot so much for this expert and sensible help. I won’t hesitate to endorse your web page to any person who needs direction on this topic.

Leave a comment