Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving

JewishFdtns

Jewish Foundations Giving 20% to Jewish Causes

Last week I wrote a post on Jewish Foundations Giving Only 20% to Jewish Causes.” A number of people were nice enough to comment and e-mail to let me know that when the report talked about Jewish organizations it referred to organizations founded by a Jew, and not necessarily those run as a Jewish community organizations.

Report on Jewish Foundational Giving

I’ve now read the report in the original, “A Study of Jewish Foundations” (of the Institute for Jewish and Community Research) and see that authors Gary Tobin and Aryeh Weinberg clearly define their terms. (My source did not.)

You can see the list of foundations below, sourced from pages 12 and 13 of the report.

Bringing You Primary Sources

As my blog develops, I am getting a better sense of my resources and will make every effort to share primary sources with you so that you can access them firsthand.

Presenting: The List

In no way is my presentation of this list intended to pass judgment on any of these foundations. Rather, consider this a user friendly guide to major foundations doing important work in the Jewish community and promoting Jewish values in the world.

Keep in mind that a small percentage of total funds given by a large foundation could still amount to a great deal of actual support. For example, the Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation donates 52% of their annual funds to Jewish causes, but with a budget of $2 billion, this equals $52 million.

Here are the top Jewish foundations organized by the percent their organization gives to Jewish causes.

75%- 100%

  • Ronald S. Lauder Foundation, aiding vulnerable Jewish communities in Central and Eastern Europe
  • Avi Chai Foundation, perpetuating Judaism and the Jewish people, supporting the State of Israel
  • Andrea and Charles Bronfman Philanthropies, Inc., encouraging young people’s appreciation of their Jewish history, heritage, and culture, and improving the quality of life in Israel
  • Charles E. Smith Family Foundation (unknown), read more about the Charles E. Smith Life Communities for older people
  • Charles and Lynn Schusterman Foundation, spreading the joy of Jewish living and learning
  • Ted Arison Family Foundation USA, Inc. (unknown), read more about Ted Arison (z”l)
  • Mandel Supporting Foundation, providing outstanding leadership to the nonprofit world
  • 50%- 75%

    25%- 50%

    Below 25%

    Foundations Choosing Not to Give to Jewish Causes

    Tobin and Weinberg recorded the following foundations as giving 0% to Jewish causes in 2004/2005, when their records were taken: the Weil Family Foundation, the Broad Foundation, the Annenberg Foundation (with $2.5 billion in assets), and the George Kaiser Family Foundation.
    Links

    If you liked this post, you might enjoy these:

    And of course, the Slate 60, documenting the top philanthropists of the year is always of note.

    Photo Credit

    Photo sourced from JTA’s original article on foundations here.

    52 Responses to Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving

    1. AmiV says:

      It is interesting that Israel is not seen as the primary donation destination. At least not as much as it was in the past. Maybe it is a good sign of new Israeli prosperity and less of a need for philanthropy. But I keep seeing signs on the roads here “A million people hungry in silence” (translated from Hebrew) ~ maybe with less tourism from world Jews, less awareness of what is going in in Israel on a daily life, we can call it one contributor. Anyway, there are still lots of Israelis who do not have the ‘good life’. Now that Israel is a little quieter in the press, specially in the Jewish press, maybe it’s time to make some noise. AmiV [http://israeltomorrow.blogspot.com] ~

      ps. Israel is certainly getting to be a nicer place all the time, but there are still some people who need help.

      • Michael Podolski says:

        First of all Israel is a terrible place for new immigrants, specialy for adults. The poverty is everywere,you just have to live here and not judge from an forghin viewpoint.

        • bob brown says:

          Somewhere far away there is a planet where you find your information. In a recent study, Israelis reported being the 7th happiest societ in the world. Their economy is booming!

    2. […] my post, “Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving,” I provided a list of the top Jewish foundations and what percentage they were donating to Jewish […]

    3. Yitzhak Levi says:

      Thank You for this priceless list. G-d Bless & keep up the good work! Isaac

    4. thenewjew says:

      My pleasure, Isaac. I hope you find use for it with your work in Barcelona. Please keep me updated as to how you are progressing.

      B’Shalom,

      Maya

    5. […] “Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving,” Gary Tobin and Aryeh Weinberg’s A Study of Jewish Foundations provides us analytic rankings of the most generous American Jewish foundations (but the Forbes list does not include private foundations) […]

    6. Mattias says:

      Thanks for this list. Just a quick edit: “For example, the Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation donates 52% of their annual funds to Jewish causes, but with a budget of $2 billion, this equals $52 million.” 52% of $2 billion is $520 million. (probably a typo!)

    7. Donna Greenberg says:

      Are there any foundations who can help support a 95 year old woman stay at home, money needed for care givers, instead of going to an Old People’s Home?

      • Maya Norton says:

        Hi Donna,

        Where in the world are you? What else can you tell me about the specific situation that will better help me answer your question (i.e. are you specifically inquiring about Jewish organizations)? Your first step should be to inquire with local social service organizations.

        ~ Maya

        The New Jew: Microblog on Facebook (http://tinyurl.com/TheNewJew)

    8. kishor says:

      sir i am stuck in a big financial problem will you please help me to come out of this situation.

    9. David says:

      Are there any foundations who would assist an organization that I work for, we are trying to give the religious Jews tools to all reach out and share our heritage with those who are unaffilliated, and not just leave it to the proffesionals?

    10. Jewish teenagers at risk, any help here with funds?

      gavrielweinberg@yahoo.com

    11. sole says:

      sole…

      […]Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving « The New Jew[…]…

    12. Laura M. says:

      I am interested in Jewish Philanthropies focused on Boston and Reform Jews/Rabbis.

    13. columbus electricians…

      […]Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving « The New Jew[…]…

    14. become an electrician…

      […]Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving « The New Jew[…]…

    15. I am looking for a philanthropic foundation which helps in the performing arts dedicated to Jewish Theatre. Specifically, the ‘Liliana Moraru Santa Cruz Jewish Theatre’, now in its third season. We are the first and only Jewish Theatre established as a community theatre – on the California central coast.
      I would appreciate help in connecting to any foundation interested in our venture.
      Claire Cameron, Artistic Director
      Liliana Moraru Santa Cruz Jewish Theatre

    16. lindabkatz says:

      Hi! I am interested in telling stories, and, sharing news and information about growing Jewish communities in Eastern Europe. On a recent trip I learned about Jews ‘coming out of hiding’ (so to speak) and learning about Jewish religion and culture. I”m looking for foundations that will support my work to provide these very brave and interested Jews a voice to share their journey. They have a lot to share and teach us about what it means to be Jewish!

      My blog: identity5772.wordpress.com

      Thanks for any help you can provide, and thanks for this blog!
      Linda

    17. I am looking for donors to the project in Israel: Implementation of mentoring for new immigrants and unemployed university graduates who work in the sub – Employment and support the process of integration into the labor market in the long run.

        Project goals:
      – Equality of opportunity and personal fulfillment of Immigrants and maximum realization of intellectual potential inherent in it.
      – Vocational training for immigrants, upgrading and retraining of professionals who are not required in the country.
      – Providing tools for teaching engineering graphics programs to help immigrants integrate into employment, rise in their socio – economic and gainfully employed.

    18. John M Riggs says:

      I am searching for intersted parties to help us effect the spread of understanding and interfaith peace by means of showing rationale of Jewish Customs and beliefs. Hence : Who is prepared to make an offer to purchase and publish the manuscript of the Afrikaans translation of Avner Eliyahu Romm’s – who is a grandson of a famous Rabbbi who translatd the Siddur to “The Sidoer” for the Afrikaans People of Southern Africa and the son of a Jerusalem based Rabbi – and I’s proposed condenced version of the Minhagim (Customs and Traditions of Jewish People – their origins and rationale) translated to Afrikaans by myself ? Contact me at johnmriggs@gmail.com or fax 27 78 004 2200

    19. stvn_gerhard@yahoo.com says:

      To the Jewish people through all the levels of life. Hope you can realize the need to connect to the ancient world in Israel and warn them of the time travelers invasion of the Oracle of God. Extortion of the Jewish and Hebrew culture through a time portal. Please educate your ancient culture and modernize their thinking. It will be critical to bring to speed the underworld and heavens association with the modern world.

    20. very good list… in the site http://www.trombanet.com
      have Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving in Hebrew)

    21. Moishela says:

      BS”D
      Discussion with Moishela (with his family)
      A Handicapped child
      3 Cheshvan 5775 (Oct 26, ’14)

      “The Noose Is Getting Tighter”

      The world has absolutely gone mad, absolutely mad. Murder, accidents, weather related deaths, riots, plagues, Mamash a very scary world. Every day something new. Every day something more bloody. Every day more and more deaths. Every day we become more and more frightened.

      The noose is getting tighter and tighter around us, and the worst part about it is that no one seems to feel it except a very few. Very few people feel it at all. Either they don’t want to feel it so they ignore it, or they are really in some very strong daze or under some kind of drug that keeps them from seeing what is happening. It doesn’t even have to be medication, although I would imagine that in the western world at least 50% of the people are on some kind of psychiatric medication. They drug themselves on Gashmius on materialism so they won’t know, so they won’t feel, so they won’t be afraid. What is happening is frightening because the world is beginning to feel the effects of being ruled by a group of absolute maniacs, of people that are evil to their bone. They are planning crazy things and thinking they can get away with it, thinking that they can turn the world into their private domain, that they can take the Jewish people and turn them into Goyim. Their greatest goal that they want to achieve is they want to destroy, to kill nine-tenths of the world population. What can I tell you? We Yidden are being targeted. Our faith is being targeted, and we must, must come back to Hashem in order to stop it.

      I have dreams, I have such frightening dreams every night. I see cities being blown up. I see all kinds of terrible things happening. I see wild men killing and plundering. I see planes shooting and bombing. I see people dying of thirst and hunger, and I cry and I cry. I am so nervous and so afraid, not for myself – for my family and for Am Yisroel, how terrible, how terrible. I’m not even giving you the details of what I see but it’s very very frightening! I don’t know how to pass on to my fellow Jews through what I am writing, the difficult things we still have to face.

      How can I beg? How can I plead with Am Yisroel to open their eyes, to get rid of the Gashmius, to stop looking like street people, to start looking again like Jews, to start acting again like Jews? I’m talking to the Frum. What else can I say to you? What else can I do? If you read over everything I’ve said to this point, you should already be doing Teshuva in the strongest way, but I see in the streets that people are buying and buying things that are not necessary. I see that they are making fancy parties and fancy Chasunas and things that are not necessary. I see and I feel that children are growing up to love, to lust after Gashmius. I see how we are eating like gluttons, but have become very very weak in our Mitzvos and it makes me cry. Now we are facing the most horribly difficult time in history and we’re messing around with nonsense.

      What can I say? What can I do? I’m only a young person with an old head and an old heart, but I can tell you this: you better straighten up fast. You better get your act together because the suffering is going to be unbelievable if not, and if you take yourself in hand then you can save yourself so much suffering, so much misery. Do you understand? People, do you understand? You can save yourselves so much suffering, but if not it will be unimaginable suffering. I’m begging you. I’m begging you. Put your trust in Hashem not in people, not in science, not in chief rabbis, or in heads of state. Put your trust only in Hashem, only in Hashem, only in Hashem. We have to be like the Yidden that left Mitzrayim and spent forty years in the desert. We have to be like that. We have to have that kind of trust of Hashem without question, no matter what happens, no questions asked. We must know in our hearts and our souls that it’s all for our good, it’s to help us go higher, to help us reach the next stage of Creation which is Olam Habah of Moshiach Tzidkainu, and our journey upwards, to total salvation, to completely become one with Hashem. That’s what I have to say.

      I’m afraid that my words have become useless because people have become used to listening to them, even though they are harsh and they are strong and people see around them terrible things happening, but they are getting used to it. They want their Gashmius more than they want to listen. So I will say a few more sentences to make sure you understand. Please, please do Teshuva. Change your way of life. Become Tzniusdik, the men and the women. Trust Hashem in everything. Don’t go looking outside of your Daled Amos for the Yeshua. The Yeshua is only with Hashem, only with Hashem. In the near future we are going to witness very bloody happenings, very frightening and very bloody. Here in Eretz Yisroel there will be more riots and more trouble, but in Chutz La’aretz it will be really bad, really bad.

      Between now and Chanukah we are going to have a rush of incidents all over the world, that will put great fear into most of the population of the world. You won’t know where to look first, up, down, left, right. Everywhere there will be trouble big big trouble. Hashem is trying to show us that the inevitable must be and that means that we are coming very close to the Geula Sheleima, and the hardest part of this birth is now and therefore you can either have an easy birth or a very difficult one. It’s your choice.

    22. There is a site called mystarname

      The site is about Jewish foundations

      http://www.mystarname.com

    23. היי רציתי לספר לכם על המיזם שלנו למגזר השלישי

      מיסטרנם הינו מיזם חדשני וחופשי לשימוש,באתר יש מאגר קרנות פילנתרופיות עצום שמפרסם פרטי יצירת קשר של קרנות שנותנות מענקים לעמותות-ארגונים-קהילות..המאגר חינמי-חופשי-שיתופי לחלוטין…תודה ויום טוב

      http://www.mystarname.com

    24. sankar says:

      i love jews and like to serve them.

    25. Steve Lurie says:

      My name is Steve Lurie, I am 74 years old, married for 49 years, father of 4, grandfather of 7 and Jewish.
      In my life I have experienced the good in being Jewish and the bad. This addresses the “bad” of being Jewish.
      My first experience with anti-Semitism began in 1966 while serving in the Army at Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri. I was sitting on a foot locker in my skivvies along with 3 other recruits playing cards when I noticed one of the soldiers staring at my dog tags. Back in the day the religion of the soldier was on the dog tags along with his name, blood type and serial number. Asking him what he was staring at he said “are you a Jew?” When I told him I was, he shook his head and said “my daddy told me that Jews had horns on their heads and hooked noses”. I told him that “yes, I am a Jew and you can see I do not have horns on my head or a hooked nose so I guess your daddy told you wrong.”
      It was at that moment I realized how ignorance plays a significant role in the understanding of the Jewish people. I will now address how this ignorance can be changed.
      I think it is time that the Jewish people give up ownership of the holocaust. We should never forget but we should stop using the holocaust as the means to define the Jewish people. I suggest instead that we begin to educate the masses of the contributions made by the Jewish people for the betterment of the world.
      In order to get this message across, I suggest we build Jewish contribution centers that address that issue. This should not be done in arrogance but merely as an educational forum just like the holocaust museum does to educate the horrors the Jews experienced in Europe during World War II. In fact, these centers should be attached to the holocaust museums so the visitors can view first what the world did to the Jews and then to visit the attached contribution center to see what the Jews have given in return.
      It is my hope that through education my grandchildren and their children and their children’s children could live in a world where the Jew is finally recognized as a race of people that have consistently worked to benefit mankind and to not be maligned as they are today.
      One final thought: I suggest you question your family, friends and co-workers with a simple question: Do you know the contribution made by Jonas Salk? Their response just might surprise you.

    26. K.Naveen kumar says:

      Very goods jews, I want become jews

    27. Dutch Vic says:

      I love your style =)

    28. Barry Steinhart says:

      Salk I truly to be remembered and admired. But what about all the brilliant spiritual, holy, G-d fearing Rabbis and laymen, since the time of receiving the Torah on Mt Sinai. How tragic that so many secular Jews quote the likes of Spinoza, Freud and Einstein as jews to be remembered, whilst all they were, were free thinking clever idiots.

    29. Nonkululeko Mbali says:

      I need more information on how to get funding to do resource centre and orphans as our children are I’ll treated as the social development has no enough shelter for them

    30. Milan Nikolic says:

      My father, Nikola Nikolic, died during Hurricane Michael.
      Mother (Vera) and brother (Jovan) died and were cremated several years before.
      Traditional funeral, graveside service and burial for all 3 was held 40 days after the hurricane.
      Few months later I discovered and learned Dad was in reverse mortgage with his home.
      Now the reverse mortgage lender has given notice indicating action to take over the home unless I can pay it off or otherwise reach a settlement.
      I was paraplegic 9 years and I’ve been learning how to walk again 7 months.
      I have not anywhere to reside except here.
      My Social Security benefits are 489 Dollars monthly.
      I need emergency help.
      Can or would you and your friends help me to save my father’s house…
      and thus help me continue to have a place to live?
      I am hopeful and prayerful that you will want to do so.

      Please, in the event that you may not want or otherwise are unable to help me, would you be so kind as to try to help me find someone(‘s) who would. Know that I would be exceedingly grateful.

    31. Hey there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.|

    32. m88 says:

      m88

      Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving | The New Jew

    33. visit says:

      visit

      Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving | The New Jew

    34. Calls Marketing

      Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving | The New Jew

    35. Pastor MBA unyeawaji abel says:

      Please I need financial support for my church Building. Thanks for your support.

    36. resources says:

      resources

      Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving | The New Jew

    37. Jeff says:

      Please add me to all the e-mail list

    38. make your husband want you

      Top Jewish Foundations and Their Philanthropic Giving | The New Jew

    Leave a comment